60 Songs, 30 Days: Day 11 – A Song from Your Favorite Band

Seeing as the writers of aDeadKid have some complimentary tastes in music, we are taking a shot at the popular Tumblr survey “30 Songs in 30 Days” list.  So get ready for a shitload of name-dropping and youtube clips as Brian, Matt and Lis proudly give you their 60 Songs in 30 Days…

Day 11 – A Song from Your Favorite Band

Matt: Man alive, some of these are real doozies. The problem here obviously isn’t coming up with a great song by what will ultimately be deemed my favorite band. This is a sleeper question that forces me to actually pick a band as a favorite. Really, the same issues involved in picking a favorite song for Day 1 arise; I have certain bands that might be considered favorites within different styles of music, but picking an ultimate end-all-be-all band is incredibly difficult.

While I have come up with something to post, I can’t honestly claim this band as a definitive answer. Essentially, I put this into perspective by asking myself the following question: If I had to get a band-related tattoo, what band would it be? Well, in the past I have thought about getting a band-related tattoo, and that’s because this band has been a solid contender in my musical library since I was in middle school. Since two of my favorite things are old horror movies and punk, it would only make sense to pick The Misfits. Their theatrics were ridiculous but memorable, and their songs were damn good. Plus, the crimson ghost is a pretty gnarly icon for a tattoo, even if it has been done to death.

Tattoos aside, I really have always been into The Misfits, and I don’t see myself tiring of them, so here is one of my favorites jams by the unruly fellows.

Lis: Echoing the mini-disclaimer above, I have favorite bands for different things, etc. and I do not believe I have ever actually (in my adult life) referred to any musician or band as my ‘favorite’. However, in the spirit of this post, I’m going to put on my big girl pants and pick something from a pair of artists that I find myself continuing to tell people to check out.

I’ve had the pleasure of seeing both Scout Niblett and Bonny Prince Billy play live (albeit separately) numerous times, and the experience is…unique. Pre-show Scout and I sipped tea together in Schuba’s while doing crossword puzzles from the Red Eye (she was already wearing the construction worker vest that has now become a permanent fixture at her shows) and I had the distinctly unforgettable experience of witnessing Bonny Prince Billy (AKA Will Oldham) post-show change out of slacks and into jort overalls in an upscale brunch establishment in Jackson, MS. (Editor’s Note: The fried green tomato benedict at Julep’s is amazing.)

Brian: Since I’m writing last on this one, I feel I can write really mean things and the only way Lis or Matt can retort is by replying, which I can then mark as spam, heh heh heh.

Asking a critic (or a hipster) what their favorite anything is causes a problem.  They will fight this question to the death.  “There is no black and white! Only gray!”  “Choice is an illusion!” “Reason is fluid and topical!”  “Simulation and simulacra!” Etc.  This, of course, is just a way to dodge having any real opinion that you can’t immediately contradict in your next breath.  I remember in college one time drawing a complete blank when someone I respected asked me what I was listening too.  “Uh, ummm, stuff?”

So, Matt’s got a great point.  What band would you get a tattoo of if you had to? That is an excellent way to attack the same question from a different angle.  I wouldn’t expect any less from a philsophy major.  Alas, I can never make up my mind on getting a tattoo either… or even where to put stickers, because that kind of permanence stresses me out.

So, the closest thing to a tattoo these days (and this is a stretch) is my Twitter, and here is the image on my twitter profile…

So, duh.  And here is a very unexpected, and very excellent remix done by Aussie DJ collective The Avalanche.  So… Scotland + Australia = African Tribal Pop.  Obvs.  Enjoy.  Also, Matt & Lis are stupidfaces!

  1. Stupidfaces, eh? Well you’re going to feel like a stupidface when you remember writers don’t have to have comments approved! Mark this as spam, knucklehead!

  2. Shit.

    Lis was actually a little insulted that I called you stupid faces. Classic S.F. move.

    I write what I feel, and I reject prior restraint.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers

