Mix Album: Boys & Girls

Boys & Girls

I have a small obsession with male-female vocal harmonizing and the trading off of verses.  Though this mix is a bit dated now, I came across it while clearing out my mediafire drive, and I thought, as Matty Dangerfox supplied you some kick-ass durty beats last week, I should overcompensate with some sing-songy, wispy pussy shit that I really enjoy.  Maybe you will too.

  1. Intro – The Pixies
  2. Handle with Care – Jenny Lewis with the Watson Twins
  3. Two Ways – The 1900s
  4. Honey Child What Can I Do? – Isobel Campbell & Mark Lanegan
  5. Who Were You Thinking Of? – Biirdie
  6. Secretly Minnesotan – Tullycraft
  7. Death to Los Campesinos! – Los Campesinos!
  8. Say Yes if You Love Me – Acid House Kings
  9. PS (interlude) – The Books
  10. Happy New Year – Camera Obscura
  11. Can’t Ever Sleep – Saturday Looks Good to Me
  12. Friday Night – Elephant Parade
  13. Jorge Regula – The Moldy Peaches
  14. Come Back from San Fransisco – The Magnetic Fields
  15. Souvenirs – Architecture in Helsinki
  16. You Really Got a Hold on Me – She & Him
  17. All You Need is Hate – The Delgados
  18. Know-how – Kings of Convenience
  19. Les Etoiles Secretes – Ida
  20. Ghosts are Good Company – Bishop Allen
  21. The Ice Storm, Big Gust, and You – Tilly & The Wall

Download the mix here

4 thoughts on “Mix Album: Boys & Girls

  1. Great list- check out Val Emmich and Allie Moss’s “Convince Me.” My latest repeat for easy, melodic harmony. Though my go-to for the genre is the Styrofoam remix for Nothing Better. Probably not so cool to still love the Postal Service but hot damn…song gets me every time.

  2. The Postal Service should totally be on this mix! The only reason it isn’t is that I think I put “nothing better” on every mixtape I made for about a year and a half.

    I’ll have to check out the Styrofoam mix. In the meantime, I’d recommend you check out Styrofoam’s mix of American Analog Set’s “Cool Kids Keep.”

Leave a Reply

