60 Songs, 30 Days: Day 01 – Your favorite song

Seeing as the writers of aDeadKid have some complimentary tastes in music, both of us are taking a shot at the popular Tumblr survey “30 Songs in 30 Days” list.  So get ready for a shitload of name-dropping and youtube clips as Brian and Matt proudly give you their 60 Songs in 30 Days…

Day 01 – Your favorite song

Brian: Favorite song ever?  Jeeez.  That’s a tough one to start out with. Shouldn’t “favorite” be last on this list, the grand finale? I’m going to let the cold, hard logic of my Last.Fm page dictate what this one is.  My top 3 most-listened to track are Junior Boys songs, but I put on Junior Boys a lot as background music, so I feel that doesn’t count.  SO.  The #1 song I’ve played for the last 3+ years is….  Nick Drake, “Hazey Jane II”.

I probably have this high up on my list for a number of reasons.  The top of which is probably that Nick Drake is infinitely listenable.  Another is that Drake often gets a bad wrap about being thoroughly depressing, but “Hazey Jane II”‘s jangle strum, country slide guitar, and cheery brass and sax are charming and breezy as can be.  It always puts me in a good mood.

..

..

Matt: Picking one song as my favorite is extremely difficult, especially since I, like most people, listen to various types of music depending on mood and season, so what might seem like a favorite at one minute could lose its place shortly thereafter. Because of this conundrum, I decided the best approach would be to pick a song that has not only endured for many years, but also encompasses a good amount of the musical ideals I have held throughout my life. Enter Converge’s “The Saddest Day.”

I honestly do care a lot about independent music and underground ethics, as asshole-ish as that sounds. This has remained since I first discovered punk rock in middle school. As my tastes changed, I always gravitated towards music that was a bit under the radar, not because I wanted to be different, but because I love the messages and non-watered down feeling of music that wasn’t meant for easy acceptance. Converge has always stuck to this ethos, creating output that contains a lot of politics and social commentary, as well as producing music that continuously pushes boundaries. “The Saddest Day” is their opus, not to mention just plain crushing. Seeing this song played live was one of the greatest musical experiences of my life. I also got really sweaty and a little injured.

3 thoughts on “60 Songs, 30 Days: Day 01 – Your favorite song

  1. […] Day 01 – Your favorite song Day 02 – Your least favorite song Day 03 – A song that makes you happy Day 04 – A song that makes you sad Day 05 – A song that reminds you of someone Day 06 – A song that reminds you of somewhere Day 07 – A song that reminds you of a certain event Day 08 – A song that you know all the words to Day 09 – A song that you can dance to Day 10 – A song that makes you fall asleep Day 11 – A song from your favorite band Day 12 – A song from a band you hate Day 13 – A song that is a guilty pleasure Day 14 – A song that no one would expect you to love Day 15 – A song that describes you Day 16 – A song that you used to love but now hate Day 17 – A song that you hear often on the radio Day 18 – A song that you wish you heard on the radio Day 19 – A song from your favorite album Day 20 – A song that you listen to when you’re angry Day 21 – A song that you listen to whenyou’re happy Day 22 – A song that you listen to whe you’re sad Day 23 – A song that you want to playat your wedding Day 24 – A song that you want to play at your funeral Day 25 – A song that makes you laugh Day 26 – A song that you can play on an instrument Day 27 – A song that you wish you could play Day 28 – A song that makes you feel guilty Day 29 – A song from your childhood Day 30 – Your favorite song at this time last year Share this:FacebookTwitterDiggRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

