60 Songs, 30 Days: Day 03 – A Song That Makes You Happy

Seeing as the writers of aDeadKid have some complimentary tastes in music, both of us are taking a shot at the popular Tumblr survey “30 Songs in 30 Days” list.  So get ready for a shitload of name-dropping and youtube clips as Brian and Matt proudly give you their 60 Songs in 30 Days…

Day 03 – A Song That Makes you Happy

Brian: A lot of songs make me smile.  I will avoid karaoke at all costs.  I used to have a caveat to this, by saying, “If the karaokee bar ever had ‘_____’ I would sing it,” knowing that no karaokee bar would ever have that particular song.

For a while it was “Hate to Say I Told You So,” by the Hives but that became increasingly more likely for a bar to have.  Then it was The Velvet’s “Sister Ray,” becuase imagining someone doing Sister Ray karaokee is just too funny.

Listening to Pavement’s Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain slightly intoxicated a few weeks ago I realized that the song I would love to sing live would have to be the epic “Range Life.”  Not only do you get to stagger around during the multiple guitar interludes, but you get to mimic the cryptically sloppy turns of phrase and loopy pitch changes that Stephen Malkmus is known for.  Also, you get sing some incredibly awesome lyrical lines…

  • “Donwurrrrry… we’re in NOOO hurrrr-ray… school is out… what did you expect?”
  • “Run from the pigs, the fuzz, the cops, the heat… Pass me your gloves, this crime wave is never complete / ’til you snort it up or shoot it down / You’re never gonna feel free”

and perhaps the greatest call-to-arms in the history of Alternative music

  • “Out on tour with the Smashing Pumpkins / Nature kids, now they don’t have no function / I don’t understand what they mean, and I could really give a fuck. / Stone temple pilots, they’re elegant bachelors / They’re foxy to me are they foxy to you? / I will agree —  there isn’t absolutely nothing / Nothing more than me”

C’mon.  Tell me that that line doesn’t make you happy, jus’ a little bit?


..
..

Matt: A lot of songs make people happy because they induce memories from good times in the past or remind them of someone that made them feel good. There are plenty of songs out there that do the same to me, but in many ways those tracks are too specific to the listener. If someone doesn’t have the same memories, will the song resonate with them as much? Perhaps it will, but for today’s challenge I decided to pick a song that is not tied to anything personal in my mind; it’s just extremely upbeat.

Christoph Andersson has released a lot house tracks recently, and all of them are excellent for different reasons. They all reek of summer and sunshine, so I think most could be used in a “makes me happy” context. However, my absolute favorite has got to be “Captital.” I love the few lyrics that make it into the track, and the music itself is so insanely bubbly it’s almost impossible to not smile when it plays.

One thought on “60 Songs, 30 Days: Day 03 – A Song That Makes You Happy

Leave a Reply

