60 Days, 30 Songs: Day 6 – A Song That Reminds You of Somewhere

Seeing as the writers of aDeadKid have some complimentary tastes in music, both of us are taking a shot at the popular Tumblr survey “30 Songs in 30 Days” list.  So get ready for a shitload of name-dropping and youtube clips as Brian and Matt proudly give you their 60 Songs in 30 Days…

Day 06 – A Song that Reminds You of Somewhere

Matt: There aren’t a lot of Air songs that I particularly like, but I have loved the song “Run” on their Talkie Walkie album ever since I first heard it. Even listening to it now is especially enjoyable for whatever reason. Whenever I hear it, I am reminded of driving through Barrington back to the city (Chicago, for our international readers), during the fall. I used to head out to that suburb fairly frequently when I was in college (or university, also for our international readers). I must have listened to it a lot during these trips in order for it to stick in my mind that clearly. So yeah, of all places, this song reminds me of Barrington, Illinois in the fall. WTF?

Brian: I suppose it would be easiest to just name a song that has a location in the title, but where’s the fun in that?  In my brief time as a college DJ, I would stow away the new releases and listen to the ones I liked at home  in my unkempt apartment until I felt like bringing them back.  As you always do, you remember the summer being warm — never hot, with a cool and even breeze circulating through a surprisingly roomy and tastefully decorated efficiency apartment in Milwaukee.  Of course, none of that was the case.  The summer (and the apartment) didn’t clean up all nice by the end, but all that I remember is the good stuff.

Leave a Reply

